22.10.2016… Ipswich Town (h)…

Newcastle United 3 Ipswich Town 0

St. James’ Park… Saturday October 22nd… 3pm

Attendance: 51,963

Ticket: £30 – Programme: £3

I’ve missed a few games recently, my dad hasn’t been well…

newcastle v ipswich...

Outside St. James’ Park…

He was diagnosed with Prostate Cancer last year; it spread to his arm, then to his back, then finally, to his liver. He died on Monday 17th October at 10.30am, peacefully in bed in his front room. I was holding his hand…

He taught my how to ride a bike, how to bowl overarm and how to kick a ball. He bought me my first black and white shirt. He took me to my first match, January 1981, an FA Fourth Round game against Luton Town. He bought us season tickets in 1983, and we went together until he thought that I was old enough to go with my mates…

He was never as big a fan as I became, he never understood the away trips or the boxes of programmes but it was always something that we had in common. Even in my thirties and forties I would always enjoy the game more when we went together…

newcastle v ipswich...

Inside St. James’ Park…

The match…? We won 3-0, and I wish that my dad could have watched it with me…

Newcastle United; Darlow, Yedlin, Clark, Lascelles, Dummett, Colback, Shelvey (Hayden 83), Ritchie, Gouffran (Atsu 75), Perez, Gayle (Mitrovic, 79)

Not Used; Sels, Mbemba, Anita, Diame

Goals; Perez (1, 73), Ritchie (78)

Ipswich Town; Bialkowski, Knudsen (Emmanuel 46), Chambers, Berra, Webster, Ward,  Douglas, Grant, Lawrence, Sears (Williams 83), Best (McGoldrick 46)

Not Used; Gerken, Bishop, Digby, Bru

Goals; None

As usual, more pictures on flickr…

Leave a Reply

