15.03.2015… Everton (a)…

Everton 3 Newcastle United 0

Goodison Park… Sunday March 15th… 4pm

Attendance: 38,806

Ticket: £34 – Programme: £3

So… A first trip to Goodison Park since 1998, it hasn’t changed much…

Ended up with the home fans again (hence the £34 admission price), I can never be sure of a ticket as a member (no loyalty points for us), especially with a reciprocal agreement; feeding off the scraps. Ironically, as much as I support lower ticket prices for away fans, the reality is that it’s a scenario that would lead to me being able to get to fewer games…

Goodison Park; in two minds really. It was pretty much as I remember it; a proper, old-fashioned football stadium from the outside, one which suffers as a result on the inside. From my seat in the back row of the Lower Bullens I couldn’t see the ball when it was kicked more than ten feet in the air, or the goalmouth directly in front of me; in fact it felt as though I was sitting in a smelly cave. As much as I like to romanticise this kind of ground, I must admit that, to my shame, I’ve become sort of used to being able to see the game properly…

Another club printing programmes with retro covers though; today’s was modelled on this. Would love to see us do something similar…

newcastle v everton...

Outside Goodison Park…

The match then (do I have to?); no pretending, another abject performance…

First half, early possession with no end product, Everton scored, game over. Second half, an absolute disgrace. A stupid penalty, a shithouse tackle by Coloccini, ten men, 3-0.

I didn’t see the third, I was already on my way back to Lime Street. Leaving before the end is not something I endorse or would normally do, but if the players can’t show any interest then I don’t see why I should. I had to get up for work in the morning, so the benefits of an earlier train far outweighed the thought of a further ten minutes of this…

In summary, lots of trains boarded, lots of money spent, and for what? I genuinely don’t know what the point of us is anymore…

everton v newcastle...

First Half Action…

Everton; Howard, Coleman, Alcaraz, Jagielka, Baines, Lennon (YC) (Atsu 85), McCarthy (Besic 86), Gibson, Osman, Lukaku (Barkley 74), Koné

Not Used; Robles, Naismith, Stones, Garbutt

Goals; McCarthy (20), Lukaku (56 pen), Barkley (90)

Newcastle United; Krul, Janmaat, Coloccini (RC), Taylor.R (YC), Sissoko (YC), Colback, Obertan (Pérez 45), Gouffran, Ameobi (Cabella 58), Riviere (Gutiérrez 62)

Not Used; Anita, Elliot, Armstrong, Satka

Goals; None

As usual, more pictures on flickr…

Leave a Reply

